image3
image4

Avvo Reviews

image5

Thoughtful Representation in Extended Custody Proceedings

5 Stars

Posted by Dana on Avvo.com
August 12, 2019

Zalena Kersting was my attorney of choice not once but three time in my divorce and child custody proceedings over 10+ years. Dealing with a narcissistic co-parent brings unique challenges to the table. At each phase, Zalena handled the case with competence and efficiency. I was always informed on the status of my case and her preparation prior to and in the courtroom gave me confidence I could protect my child. I have and would continue to highly recommend Zalena.Less
 

Thorough and Very Assertive

 5.0 stars

Posted by Ali on Avvo.com
October 6, 2012

Zalena is very knowledgeable in family law and knows how to direct herself in a manner that is conducive to winning in court. She is very assertive and well prepared with thorough questions to ensure a fair and just outcome. I would highly recommend her for anyone with family court issues.

Knows my case better than I do and is passionate to see it through!

5.0 stars

Posted by Travis on Avvo.com
May 14, 2018

After an unfortunate experience with a low cost, terrible attorney, I was advised by a friend to go see Zalena whom my friend had used for his divorce. While she was more expensive than my previous attorney, she completely made up for in work ethic and determination. There is a lot to be said about "you get what you pay for". She was impressive from the very beginning and within just a couple weeks was completely up to speed. She started out at a disadvantage having to come into an already pending and very messy divorce and has been a rock star for me ever since. Zalena worked and continues to work tirelessly for me and many nights I have received emails from her around midnight and many times I have spoken to her in the evenings and she is still in her office. Often times she has recalled something about the case or evidence that I have forgotten, her memory is astounding of the facts and events of my case. I would highly recommend her services to anyone. I know that she is just doing her job but I do feel as if she took my case very personally and because of that mentality, she made all of the difference. The system is skewed against father's in a divorce and without her, I am not sure where I would be. She fought hard for my rights as a dad and pushed back on the court on things that just were wrong and I am forever grateful for her help. Since my divorce started almost 2 years ago, she has helped at least 3 friends that I know of with their divorce situations and all 3 people are very happy with her services as well.

Excellent Family Law Attorney

5.0 stars

Posted by Jeannie on Avvo.com
March 28, 2018

We hired Zalena who took our highly emotional and very complicated case regarding a child custody issue. She is an excellent attorney who listens, understands, is very perceptive and knows how to achieve what it takes to win a case. Do not hesitate to consult with her. Trust her - she knows what she is doing!

An attorney who fights your case like you would!

 5.0 stars

Posted by CC on Avvo.com
August 19, 2011

If your life depended on her, she can handle it! I called with an emergency default divorce attempt. She took me the same day and worked all night(after 11pm) to file a detailed response. Her attention to detail and listening skills was beyond commendation. Her ability to comprehend the complexity of my case was amazing in such a short time. It was not only beyond what three other attorneys in two different states could fully grasp, it was like she heard everything I explained to her with razor sharp clarity. My case involved more complex issues that needed a cautious approach to the response to the default filing. She handled it with great delivery in the details. As we dealt with the issues unique to my case, she was fully versed on my case and ready for battle when the case called for a 3 hour hearing to allow the judge to sift through the evidence. My case wasn't usual, cut and dry or easy to defend but, Zalena, unlike the experience I had with several attorneys across two states, didn't blink! Attorneys are not guaranteed to "win" a case for you. In fact, in my experience and research, I realize attorneys get you heard with the correct legal terminology but aren't a guarantee of a favorable outcome. What happens beyond that makes the real difference. With Zalena, you can expect research of cases that can have a direct impact on your outcome, the most minute details that could sway a thought process, the connection between how something is said and interpretation to reflect how you want the judge to view it, the character issues of the other party(even possibly their attorney) that affect how the evidence is presented(even in this no fault state) but most of all knowing the details of the case intimately enough to explain it as if it were her own situation/life. This is the real test of an attorney! With everything that I was faced with, when we waited for the judge to give the ruling, I knew Zalena did everything to help me be heard as if I was an attorney presenting my own case. I feel no one should give their lives to an attorney or any other professional and should be 100% part of the team but, just know that this attorney will show up with her 100% too. My spouse hired a shark! He was also extremely exceptional in the courtroom and with his preparation. My case was a victory but, not actually because the evidence suggested I was right in the details of the law. I feel somehow, in my attorneys attempts to relay not just the details but underlying behavior, the judge saw through the facade of the other party. The ruling should have had a favorable ruling for my spouse by technical laws but, it did have the ability to be ruled either way as well. I was victorious before the reading happened because the truth was presented and whatever the law interpreted it to mean, I knew Ms Kersting had taken care of business before and during court. While the ruling appeared to be going against me, I didn't have one regret, second thought or even small seed that Zalena was the best one to have achieved what I needed. After the findings were read to suggest the other party was technically correct, I was given a gift. No one wins in divorce but, the value of integrity and honesty should not be dismissed. "No fault" has reduced our ability for protection and respect as families and individuals but, all is not lost! The more someone does against you can and does count if you have a voice in the courtroom. Let Zalena Kersting be that voice! The judge ruled in my favor in the end because the details do matter! I almost missed the shift since my spouse was "legally" correct. Thanks Zalena for listening and conveying the details so professionally, eloquently and confidently! Ps...she did have to pull out the "boxing" gloves a little in the courtroom and did it with professionalism.

Long Time Client

5.0 stars

Posted by anonymous on Avvo.com
August 10, 2011

I have been a client of Zalena Kersting for eight years. She has been great to work with over these years. There have been many issues with my ex-husband that have not been typical or normal in a divorce. Ms. Kersting has been great; staying on top of each situation in order to best represent me.

Google Reviews

image6

Very Knowledgeable Attorney

5 Stars

Posted by Tami B. on Google.com

5 months ago-
Very knowledgeable in family law including divorce, custody, child support. Even though we were divorced in a about a year, I had to retain Zalena three more times in the subsequent six years due to my ex-husband's antics.

Most Prepared Lawyer in the Room

5 Stars 

Posted by Matthew S. on Google.com

9 months ago
I am very satisfied with the legal representation provided by Mrs. Kersting. It was proven time and time again that she was the most prepared lawyer in the room, against three different Attorneys. Her legal arguments and supporting statements were spot an and clear, while other attorneys proved to be grasping-at-straws. She took care of my concerns, coached me where I needed it, and most importantly, she protected me and my children. Her team of staff is fantastic; punctual, kind, thorough. I trusted in her team during the most stress-filled time of my life (custody dispute), and somehow, she made it as stress-free as I could have ever thought. If you are looking for a legal solution to swoop-in and take care of everything, while making you feel like their most important client, then you have to pick Zalena.  In a very ironic twist, I was referred to Mrs. Kersting by someone that she had previously opposed in a legal situation. I knew that if my friend was recommending a lawyer that had once represented against my friend in their own custody dispute, then that was a testament in-and-of-itself. My friend simply said “if you are looking for a lawyer that will be better than the other guys’, give Zalena a call”…. Now, after just finishing a high-stakes custody battle of my own, I couldn’t be happier with the decision I made to call Zalena several years ago.

Always Prepared and Professional

5 Stars 

Posted by Brandi S. on Google.com

9 months ago
Zalena Kersting is the only attorney one would want or need to represent them in their family law case.  I have used Zalena twice now in my divorce 2012-2013 and parenting time issues 2018, both times she has represented me in the most professional way.  Zalena is prepared and extremely knowledgeable in the law. Thank you so much for your expertise!!! The Sullivan Family